New Brunswick-born artist Donald Cameron MacKay, who prior to World War II had been vice-principal, after war service assumed the role of principal and continued until retiring in 1971. Under his supervision, in 1957 the school moved into the former St. Andrew's United Church on Coburg Road. He immediately moved to remake the college from a provincial art school into an international centre for artistic activity.